HELENA – Montana is currently in “Standard Time,” but on Sunday, Mar. 12, Daylight Saving Time will once again be implemented, and clocks will “spring forward” one hour. The change officially occurs at 2 a.m. on that date.

Some people enjoy the twice-yearly ritual of tinkering with time, feeling that “springing forward” or “falling back” helps to usher in a more seasonal atmosphere.

Other people, however, don’t like the idea of trying to trick their bodies and daily routines by adjusting the clocks.

Montana Republican State Senator Ryan Osmundson introduced a bill in the state Legislature to exempt Montana from the time-change.

Story continues below

Senate Bill 206, with the short title “Provide for Montana standard time,” states:

Section 1. Montana standard time.

(1) The standard time in Montana is the mountain standard time zone as defined in 15 U.S.C. 261.

(2) The state of Montana is exempt from daylight savings time, as allowed by federal law.

(3) This section may not affect federal laws governing:

(a) the movements of common carriers engaged in interstate commerce or foreign commerce; or

(b) the timing of an act by an officer or department of the United States, as established by statute, order, rule, or regulation.

This is not the first time a Montana lawmaker has tried to change the ritual.

In the 2011 Legislature, Montana Republican State Representative Kris Hansen introduced a similar proposal to take Montana off of the time-changing standard.

The proposal stated: “The state of Montana rejects switching between standard time and daylight saving time and elects to remain on daylight saving time in Montana throughout the year.” The bill was tabled in committee and no further action was taken.

The NASA website explains the origin of Daylight Saving Time:

In 1966, President Lyndon Johnson signed an act into law whereby Daylight Saving Time begins on the last Sunday of April and ends on the last Sunday of October each year. However, any State can opt out of Daylight Saving Time by passing a State law.

Hawaii does not observe Daylight Saving Time and neither does Arizona (although the Navajo Nation, in northeastern Arizona, does). For many years, most of Indiana did not observe Daylight Saving Time with the exception of 10 counties. Beginning in 2006, all of Indiana now observes Daylight Saving Time.

Until 2007, the return to Standard Time occurred on the last Sunday of October, but in 2005, Congress changed the date to the first Sunday of November.


  1. I for one would love to see Standard Time year round! Most of the people I know have the same opinion. The 1-2 week adjustment we go through effects everything we do and our re-actions. From our children re-adjusting while being at school and expected to be “roaring and ready” to learn, our teachers and all workers in their productivity. I also think not having to go through that adjustment helps our deportment and extends our “fuses”.

  2. I look forward to the changing of the clock It lifts everyone’s spirits in the spring because we will have more daylight to hike and walk. It gives more time to play and recreate in the late afternoons and evenings after a long day of work or school. Play outside with the children after dinner and they will fall asleep easier. Summer evenings are awesome! I disagree with the health issue, considering the extra vitamin D we get from the sun. Most of our friends, including teachers and students, feel the same way.

  3. One may disagree with the health issue, but it is real and a fact. I for one notice that my body clock is messed up. One or the other I don’t care. But the constant changing does mess with my health and I don’t like that. So please, just make up your minds as to which one and be done with the mastering of time. It really is unhealthy for the human body.

  4. I too dislike the changing of the time. I am physically disabled and the changing of the time really does take a toll on my body. It seems by the time I have adjusted, guess what? Time is due to change again! Not only does it mess with my body, but it affects my 5 dogs too. PLEASE PASS THIS BILL!

  5. why is this senate bill 206, day light savings time, ever given any time or presented to the people of Montana to vote on? I heard about it on the news and having limited knowledge of how to find what is really going on in the Helena office I have had a hard time finding the status of the bill. What do we have to do to be heard?

  6. I have never known anyone personally that did not look forward to daylight savings time. It is an absolute delight to have that extra hour of light in the evening instead of when you are in bed asleep. The mountainous areas of Montana cool off quickly when the sun goes down, making it less comfortable outside. In our household there are lots of summertime guests from out of state (spending money here by the way) they thoroughly enjoy the extra evening hour. Restaurants, water activities etc. After so many years I would think this would no longer be an issue

  7. I, too, wonder why we never heard about this bill until after it was voted on. I have been depressed since I heard about it. Do people just hate the changing of the clocks so much they don’t think about what a difference there will be in the evenings during the summer. On the longest day of the year it will be dark at 8:30. Before that it will be 7:30-8:00. Is that really what people want? I love daylight saving time and wish it would be year round. Leave it at daylight saving time and people won’t have to worry about changing their clocks.

  8. Dont do a way with daylight savings time! People who work 8:00-5:00 look forward to that extra hour of daylignt at the end of a long day. The summer is too short in MT! Lets not make is shorter.

  9. Why are we not allowed to vote on the things that directly affect our everyday lives??? I’m tired of a group of people…99% of whom I don’t even know…deciding what’s good or bad for me!! I like Daylight Savings time and would prefer to keep it our regular time zone year round. Change the Federal Law! I want more time in the evening to enjoy this beautiful state that we live in!

  10. Please, please let us continue with Daylight Saving Time. I travel and changing state borders will be very confusing and I love the long evenings to do whatever our interests lie. I do not want to daylight at 3:00am, let’s keep our daylight to when it’s more enjoyable.