Missoula ceremony remembers law enforcement killed in the line of duty

Posted at 4:46 PM, May 18, 2018
and last updated 2018-07-05 14:56:24-04

MISSOULA – Men and women in uniform remembered their fallen on Thursday evening at the 18th annual Missoula Law Enforcement Memorial Ceremony. The event celebrated the acts of those passed, as well as awarding the selfless acts of those who continue to protect and serve.

The ceremony’s keynote speaker was Judge Ed McClean, who served Missoula County for over 44 years.

The event honored 11 Missoula County Sheriff’s Office deputies and four Missoula Police Department officers for their meritorious and selfless actions.

Missoula County Sheriff T.J. McDermott recognized the late Broadwater County Deputy Mason Moore, who was killed in the line of duty a year ago.

“Deputy Mason Moore Was 42 years old. He was a 15-year law enforcement officer. He is survived by his wife and his 3 children. His end of watch came on May 16th, 2017,” Sheriff McDermott said.

Three of the officers awarded received honorable ribbons for apprehending the men who murdered Deputy Mason Moore.

Those honored during the ceremony at Rose Memorial Park were:

  • Captain David Conway
  • Deputy Ryan Swearingin
  • Deputy Paul VonGontard
  • Deputy Sean Evans
  • Deputy Ryan Dunster
  • Detective Shawn Williams
  • Detective Jared Cochran
  • Sergeant Scott King
  • Sergeant Ryan Prather
  • Corporal Michael Hash
  • Detention Officer Rick Renfro
  • Officer Ross Colyer
  • Officer Shaun Loya,
  • Officer Jenna Volinkaty
  • Officer Patrick Mulligan

Reporting by Donal Lakatua for MTN News